This is the "Home" page of the "The Institute for New Orleans History and Culture at Gwynedd Mercy University" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

The Institute for New Orleans History and Culture at Gwynedd Mercy University  

Last Updated: Jun 6, 2014 URL: http://gmc.libguides.com/neworleansinstitute Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Mississippi River at New Orleans

 

New Orleans Collection in Lourdes Library

View the New Orleans Collection in the Lourdes Library catalog.

 

St. Louis Cathedral in Jackson Square

 

Cafe du Monde

 

Bienvenue! Welcome!

Welcome to the LibGuide for The Institute for New Orleans History and Culture at Gwynedd Mercy University in suburban Philadelphia.

The Institute for New Orleans History and Culture at Gwynedd Mercy University was established in 2005 as a collection where the heritage of this city can be preserved and studied. Established by an interested committee of academics and staff members at the University, the Institute works to preserve New Orleans history through its library collection of books, photographs, documents, video and audiotapes. The Institute also hosts speakers and cultural events, and makes study and service-learning trips to the city with students and community members. The Institute will write grants to fund projects, write academic research papers, sponsor cultural events, and conduct additional study trips to New Orleans.

This guide will host basic information about the city of New Orleans as well as provide links to other sites dedicated to a specific aspect of this great American city. The hope is that this site will be a useful stop for researchers and others interested in the city to find information in their study of New Orleans.

The tabs at the top of this guide will lead you to information on the city's history and culture where you will find links that will take you to more valuable information.

New Orleans is a great city rebuilding and re-establishing itself at this time. We firmly believe that visiting the city and sampling its rich cultural traditions will be key in bringing the city back to its splendor. We urge all who read this to make plans to visit New Orleans and enjoy what it has to offer.

 

About the Institute

The Institute for New Orleans History and Culture is located in the Lourdes Library at Gwynedd Mercy University. The Institute was established in 2005 as a collection where the heritage of this city can be preserved and studied. Established by Dr. Wade Luquet, a native of New Orleans, and an interested committee of academics and staff members at the University, the Institute works to preserve New Orleans history through its library collection of books, photographs, documents, video, and audiotapes. The institute also hosts speakers and cultural events, and makes study and service-learning trips to the city with students and community members. The Institute will write grants to fund projects, write academic research papers, sponsor cultural events, and conduct additional study trips to New Orleans.

The Institute currently has over 250 items related to New Orleans including books, photographs, a jazz collection,, cookbooks, and menus from some of the cities most visited restaurants. Additional works are being added on a regular basis through purchase and donation. View the New Orleans Collection in the library's catalog.

If you would like to donate items to the Institute, we would be happy to add them to our collection. You can contact Dr. Wade Luquet at 215-646-7300 x 21165 or e-mail at luquet.w@gmercyu.edu.

Dr. Wade Luquet, Director
Associate Professor of Sociology and Human Services

 

Advisory Panel

Dr. Carol Breslin
Professor
Language Literature and Fine Arts

Dr. Wayne Huss
Professor and Chair, History

Dr. Donna Allego
Associate Professor of English

Ms. Mary Jo Pierantozzi
Assistant Professor of Education

Mr. Daniel Schabert
Director, Lourdes Library

Ms. Heather Burychka
Reference/Instruction Librarian
Lourdes Library

Daniel Hammer
Historic New Orleans Collection

Kathy Kravitz, M.A.
Adjunct Professor of English

Liz Williams
President
Southern Food and Beverage Museum
New Orleans, LA

Walter Williams
Film Maker, Dreamsite Productions

 

Dr. Wade Luquet, Director

Wade Luquet

Contact Info:

Connelly Faculty Center,
Room 204

215-646-7300 ext. 165

luquet.w@gmercyu.edu

 

Subjects:

Sociology, Human Services, New Orleans History

Seeking Solutions with Suzanne

Seeking Solutions with Suzanne features the Institute for New Orleans History and Culture in this five minute video.

Watch Suzanne Roberts' interview with Dr. Wade Luquet and her visit to The Big Easy here:

 

Lourdes Library, Gwynedd Mercy University

 

New Orleans Map Collection

Lourdes Library, Gwynedd Mercy University

 

Stacks and Reading Area

Lourdes Library, Gwynedd Mercy University

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip